Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam: A Very Strange Experience


I have just had the most strange experience! My husband and I were out this afternoon at a local beach of ours, Nigg. It is a lovely sunny day and just the sort of day to get out into our beautiful area, down by the sea with a flask of tea, to absorb and enjoy Nature. We had stopped off at a local Abbey to take some photographs, and that done, we were resting, leaning on the old concrete WW2 lookout, gazing out to sea and drinking our tea.

056 032

A gentleman approaches, perhaps in his early 60’s and after saying hello, proceeds to ask me if I know of the Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam? I replied that I have heard of it, but know little if anything about it. Then he said to me…”You… are… the Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam” and quotes this quatrain before bidding us farewell and going off for his walk along the beach. He had only seen us from behind as he approached, before he spoke to me.

Quatrain XI in 1st edition:

Here with a Loaf of Bread beneath the Bough,

A Flask of Wine, a Book of Verse – and Thou

Beside me singing in the Wilderness –

And Wilderness is Paradise enow.

And so now I am highly confused! And more than a little disconcerted! Suggestions anyone?

5 thoughts on “Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam: A Very Strange Experience

  1. julienmatei says:

    You know,

    This is somehow a sort of weird synchronicty for me too to read your post.

    I watched yesterday on tv this programme made by BBC and a Iranian scholar about Ohmar Khayyam´s life and his Rubaiyat translated into English by the first editor – whose name I don´t recall, but who made this book known in England back in 1864.

    I never heard of this writerbefore. This Khayyam was a great mathematician, he invented a new type of calendar.

    I was deeply moved by the poems.

Comments are closed.