Jesu, Joy Of Mans Desiring


Here is one to put us all in the Sunday mood….I absolutely adore this beautiful hymn, but it was not always that way. Aged 13, in the school choir I remember this one being taught to us which we were to perform at a big Speech Day attended by all the parents. The tune and the words were a nightmare to remember, we could not ‘get’ the complex timing and we almost wept alongside our choir mistress with desperation at it! Eventually we managed it…and hopefully did it justice! To this day when I hear this 42 years later, I still find myself  ‘counting it in and out’, mentally just as we eventually had to resort to! The alternative was a choir of about 60 girls in utter chaos! Here I am in those distant past days just about to go off…and perform. Stephanie.

Thorpe House Uniform 1971

Jesu, joy of man’s desiring,

Holy Wisdom, love most bright;

Drawn by Thee, our soul aspiring

Soar to uncreated light

Word of God, our flesh that fashioned

With the fire of life imprisoned,

Striving still to truth unknown,

Soaring, dying round Thy throne.

Through the way where hope is guiding,

Hark, what peaceful music rings;

Where the flock in Thee confiding

Drink of joy from deathless springs.

Theirs is beauty’s fairest pleasure;

Theirs is wisdoms holiest treasure.

Thou dost ever lead Thine own

In the love of joys unknown.

Bach

 

7 thoughts on “Jesu, Joy Of Mans Desiring

  1. aldussault says:

    i like this site–enjoyed Jesu Joy of Mans Desiring

  2. I’ve sung that in the choir at a number of weddings. It’s so simple when you hear it but you do have to concentrate like crazy with the timing. It’s such wonderful counterpoint with the rhythms.

    I was usually too busy reading the notes to think about the words. Thank you for sharing them.

  3. I too remember singing this beautiful song in the school choir, as an alto… I had it for the intro at both my weddings !
    May have it at my funeral too !!!!

  4. Ajaytao2010 says:

    I Nominate you for a Special Bouquet of Awards – 3 Nominations

    please accept it and oblige

    there are no linkbacks for this award

    http://ajaytao2010.wordpress.com/2013/06/15/a-bouquet-of-special-awards-3-nominations/

Comments are closed.