A Prayer When Praying Is Hard


Yesterday I posted Repentance: Come Let Me Love You… and used Annie’s song to illustrate the enormity of the asking to be filled with God. This song is also a good prayer, it stands alone when praying is hard. It is, [although I doubt that was intended], a Celtic prayer that is filled with the magnificence of Gods creation and our role within it as part of it. Sometimes the landscape of prayer can become barren for the best of us, and sometimes our life feels so interrupted and troubled that we barely know how to drag ourselves to it. Of course, prayer does not need words [and prayer is constantly going on within us whether we are ‘aware’ of it or not] but there is something in the human condition that finds it more pleasing if it also contains some kind of verbal offering, which probably takes us back to the comforting rhythm of prayer we were taught as children.

If you look at the words again, it becomes obvious that these lyrics do indeed say it all on our behalf…

You fill up my senses like a night in the forest,
like the mountains in springtime, like a walk in the rain,
like a storm in the desert, like a sleepy blue ocean.
You fill up my senses, come fill me again.Come let me love you, let me give my life to you,
let me drown in your laughter, let me die in your arms,
let me lay down beside you, let me always be with you.
Come let me love you, come love me again.You fill up my senses like a night in the forest,
like the mountains in springtime, like a walk in the rain,
like a storm in the desert, like a sleepy blue ocean.
You fill up my senses, come fill me again.

The invitation, “come love me again…let me give my life to you…let me drown in your laughter…let me die in your arms…let me always be with you”…these are all incredibly powerful invocative prayers in themselves. They speak of a close relationship between God and ourselves, we wish to be fully present with Him, to die in His intimate embrace when our time comes, to be cared for and nurtured by Him across the threshold we are travelling through, to then always be with Him as we are now and we show confidence that He will be there by our side…we will not be alone. “Come love me again”, tenderly asks that He makes His love known to us, felt within us, we need Him, we want Him, we desire Him. “Let me give my life to you”, offers up the gentle unfolding of our desire to serve Him in whichever way He chooses, we offer our lives to His service, His will for us, His guidance. Thus we are no longing desiring our own small will, but for Him to overlay our small will with His magnificent Will. We acknowledge that He knows best…Thy Will be done.”

There is acknowledgement too…”you fill up my senses…come let me love you…come fill me again”…are invitations, responses, prayers for assistance, for constant ongoing presence in our lives. We are saying we do not want to take one step without Him by our side, that we acknowledge that to be fully alive, fully human…we need Him every step of the way. We are saying that it is only through His filling of us that we are able to function as were intended to and be fully alive in this world, in the now and all its complexities, exchanges and relationships. Someone once said to my husband that God was a crutch for him, to which he responded that, “No, God is my life support system.” Yes, it is like that…God is indeed our life support system, He created us, he sustains us and He gives us life…for His purpose. Without God in the equation, life would not exist. God is Life. God is Love. It is surely the very nature of things that we wish to praise and acknowledge our gratitude for this?

So this song, is indeed a prayer, and one which can be lovingly expressed when others feel dry. One which can be sung joyously even in the worst of times. Even listening to it and letting its swell wash over you, soothes and evokes a response from you which is delivered to the intended destination…which is indeed closer to you than your own heartbeat.

So this time, here is the man himself singing live in London, and it is easier to see how this song is delivered as a prayer.

3 thoughts on “A Prayer When Praying Is Hard

  1. I’m only just catching up on reading posts today. Last night, I agreed to play “Annie’s Song” on my flute at an up-coming concert. Do you think God’s trying to say something? 😉

  2. This is such a beautiful post, thank you.

Comments are closed.