Repentance: Come Let Me Love You


Repentance. A big word that holds many connotations for us. Repentance is seen as many as being a response to some kind of guilt, something that we have done wrong and need to repent for.

 I see it rather more like this….

Repentance to me is our heartfelt responding to the ever extending invitation from God to us. He approaches us in our sorrow and extends His hand to us, His eyes filled with tearful compassion for our plight, and our suffering.  He offers us the invitation to love Him, to trust Him, to turn again and fill our senses with Him, like the mountains in springtime, like a walk in the rain…He says to us, ” let me give my love to you”…and we as the lover turn, [repenting] with a flood of joy echoing our Fathers call, saying in response…”You fill up my senses, come let me love you, come love me again, let me drown in your laughter, let me die in your arms, let me always be with you.”

For when our senses are indeed filled with His presence, we walk again in the way we were created for, to walk in peace, in love and in full awareness of our divine relationship with Him.  We walk strong and sure, we are truly the children of God. Gentle, flowing Love from Beloved to Loved, of Creator for created, of Spirit Eternal for spirit in flesh, an everlasting circle of Love, given, responding and extended. So I see that as we become more aware, we repent, turn again more willingly, more joyously, because we know that by filling our presence with God, we are filled to over brimming with the feeling and knowing of His Love for us, and thus we rest in Him. This enables us to live a transformed life, and to follow the directives of compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, patience, forbearance, forgiveness, love, peace and thankfulness.

Annies Song

by John Denver.

You fill up my senses like a night in the forest,
like the mountains in springtime,
like a walk in the rain,
like a storm in the desert,
like a sleepy blue ocean.
You fill up my senses, come fill me again.
Come let me love you,
let me give my life to you,
let me drown in your laughter,
let me die in your arms,
let me lay down beside you,
 let me always be with you.
Come let me love you,
come love me again.
You fill up my senses like a night in the forest,
like the mountains in springtime,
like a walk in the rain,
like a storm in the desert,
like a sleepy blue ocean.
You fill up my senses,
come fill me again.
A beautiful text in Islam says this…
 ‘Life without repentance is spiritual
agony;
to be absent from God is immediate death.
Life and death both are
sweet with God’s presence:
without God even the Water of Life is
fire’

(5.770-771
One thought on “Repentance: Come Let Me Love You

  1. John Denver’s songs are eternally refreshing to listen. One of my unforgettable favorites of all time

Comments are closed.