David and Goliath: The Lady In Red:


Outrageous.

I say…Not In My Name…yet again.

My voice is quiet. A  whisper in the cacophony of noise and distraction.

But I shall not be silenced, and if I am, another will quietly take my place.

The links in the chain of Love are never broken.

Each day in this world we have choices to make…to stand and witness to the truth and love inherent in humanity.

Or to buckle in the face of the grotesque and inhumane demonstrations of power that oppress and destroy the dignity of God-given life.

Remember this powerful image of June 4th 1989? Simplicity. Quiet courage. Love. I watched this unfold as a 26-year-old young woman.

David and Goliath in China.

Tiananmen Square

x

That which is life affirming comes from God.

  That which chooses to destroy is not of God.

It is our choice everyday which we choose to affirm.

God is Love.

Below is a scene that plays out in every country across our globe every day somewhere.

 Now 24 years later I watch as this young woman in a red dress stands before the might of armed riot police in Turkey. A newspaper report states, “In her red cotton summer dress, necklace and white bag slung over her shoulder she might have been floating across the lawn at a garden party; but before her crouches a masked policeman firing teargas spray that sends her long hair billowing upwards.” Other reports say she is being sprayed with pepper spray.

Lady in Red 1

Lady in Red 2

Here’s to you Lady In Red, a modern-day David in Turkey whom I will never meet.

I salute your quiet courage with this post and this song below.

