“A small story” with a big perspective reblogged from Small Pebbles, a beautiful blog hailing from South India, who have just become followers of Livinginthemonasterywithoutwalls. Welcome to them and hope everyone here enjoys this tale about the Banyan Tree.

smallpebbles

A Small Story…

Image

I remember when my uncle Suresh planted that tree,

I must have been about five years old.

He took my fat child hand in his big wide one and

 walked me to the fields where an ancient-ruined

shrine to the gods stood in a sea of green rice plants.

“Here, Sunil,” he said, “Here we plant this tree sacred

to all Indian people.”

.

Five years later, the banyan tree stood several feet over my head,

many arial roots already touched the ground. It was a hot day –

I remember it was the day our well ran dry.

We stood looking at the tree and my uncle said,

“See Sunil, see how quickly this tree grows. Here is a place you and all the

villagers will come to pour out your troubles. Here you will laugh, cry and reflect –

protected from the hot sun by the…

View original post 368 more words

