The Prayer of St Theresa of Avila


Christ has no body now but yours,
No hands, no feet on earth but yours,
Yours are the eyes through which he looks
Compassion on this world,
Yours are the feet with which he walks to do good,
Yours are the hands, with which he blesses all the world.
Yours are the hands, yours are the feet,
Yours are the eyes, you are his body.
Christ has no body now but yours.

–attributed to Saint Teresa of Avila (1515-1582)

 

Carmelite nun, Doctor of the Church,
monastic reformer, mystic, writer

 

 

18 thoughts on “The Prayer of St Theresa of Avila

  1. At the time of my confirmation, I took the name Theresa in her honor. I thought at the time how wonderful it must be to be able to directly hear the words of the Lord. Little did I know or understand where my own Path would lead me. Your blog is incredible. Filled with Spirit and words that inspire. I shall return to this quiet place so that I may ‘walk’ among the peaceful posts. (I just let out a sigh…I do energy work, and that is a signal the body is releasing and relaxing.) Thank you for your Service.

    • You are welcome. Welcome to the blog. I guess they are meant to be read in order really…they do seem to have followed a path that builds step by step to where they are now. As you are now following you will get posts that may be clearer if you read earlier ones to follow the pattern! Going to be checking out your blog too soon. What a beautiful name yours has.

  2. Here is the link. To see old posts click archives [below calander] and scroll down with scroll bar on right of your computer. Then, at bottom if you have not found what you are after, press button for older posts scroll down again until you get to one you are after. I think this one is about two pages back on May posts.
    https://livinginthemonasterywithoutwallsdotcom.wordpress.com/2012/05/13/little-match-girl/

  3. mags says:

    How do we get to little match girl post?

  4. mags says:

    In my little church going right back to its beginnings (which in historic terms is very new) one of the priests brothers (who was a carpenter) carved our Altar in the Blessed Sacrament capel. It is two beautiful open hands, wrists together, holding the altar, which the inner child just wants to climb inside. And the inscription is ‘He has no hands but our hands.’

    St Thérése is my friend. In surprising ways she always is there for me x x

  5. GinaV says:

    Thank you so much for reminding me about Saint Teresa. ‘Christ has no body now but yours’. This poem gives me a rush of love.

    • It is such a ever present reminder isn’t it. Saint Theresa and Julian of Norwich are very special to me, as you may see if you read the highly personal post Little Match Girl.

  6. I dont know what to say. This blog is fantastic. Thats not really a really huge statement, but its all I could come up with after reading this. You know so much about this subject. So much so that you made me want to learn more about it. Your blog is my stepping stone, my friend. Thanks for the heads up on this subject.
    http://www.KneeNeckBackPain.com/

  7. This is one of my favorite prayers, a reminder that we participate in Christ’s presence in the world through being present ourselves.

  8. SaintlySages says:

    Thanks for sharing St. Teresa’s inspiring and empowering words. I resolve to do something today–I know not what yet–to be the hands and feet of Christ in the world.

    • O indeed! St Theresa of Avilas work; The Interior Castle is one of my favourites. Her descriptions of the experiences of the journey of the Soul with the Lord are pretty well described.

Comments are closed.